MENU
How Magic Cards work
Duplicant

Duplicant Russian

Last Modified 21.01.2018

We are welcoming a very changeable fellow today.

Duplicant

Oracle Text:

Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter

Imprint — When Duplicant enters the battlefield, you may exile target nontoken creature.

As long as a card exiled with Duplicant is a creature card, Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature types of the last creature card exiled with Duplicant. It's still a Shapeshifter.

Duplicant is an artifact creature with Shapeshifter subtype. This means it has two card types: Artifact and Creature. The Shapeshifter subtype does not have anything particular about it.

Acidic Slime

Duplicant is a legal target for Acidic Slime's ability, as it has the Artifact card type.

Decimate

You may choose to target Duplicant twice with Decimate: as a creature and an artifact.

Duplicant's mana cost does not contain colored mana symbols, and the type line does not feature any color indicators. Therefore, it is colorless by definition. It may get a color through an effect (Turn to Frog).

Imprint

With the release of Magic2014, Duplicant got its text updated:

Imprint—When Duplicant enters the battlefield, you may exile target nontoken creature.

As long as a card exiled with Duplicant is a creature card, Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature types of the last creature card exiled with Duplicant. It's still a Shapeshifter.

Duplicant has two abilities. One is marked with ability keyword Imprint, it is triggering and it triggers when Duplicant enters the battlefield. It doesn’t matter how it appears there, the main thing is for it to actually hit the field.

Master Transmuter

When activating Master Transmuter's ability, you may lift your Duplicant and slam it right back. This will cause its EtB-trigger to go off and exile [another] creature.

Phyrexian Metamorph

When Phyrexian Metamorph enters the battlefield as a copy of Duplicant, its triggering ability goes off.

Dimir Doppelganger

When you activate Dimir Doppelganger's ability and exile Duplicant from the graveyard, Dimir Doppelganger becomes a copy of it. Imprint doesn’t trigger however, because Duplicant did not enter the battlefield, it merely changed characteristics.

Duplicant's triggered ability contains the word “target” in its text, so it is targeted. It means you must choose a target creature if there is any. When there are no legal targets, the trigger is simply removed from the stack. If a previously legal target becomes illegal before resolution, the trigger is countered.

Duplicant

When Duplicant enters the battlefield alone, nothing interesting happens. You choose itself with its triggered ability, and as it resolves you decide to not exile the target creature.

Phantasmal Image

If you spot an enemy Phantasmal Image on the battlefield that's copying some scary creature, you may get rid of it by targeting it with Duplicant's trigger. Note that as the trigger attempts to resolve it will get countered, as the target will not be there by that time. Phantasmal Image's trigger will have sent it to its owner's graveyard earlier.

Siege-Gang Commander

You target Siege-Gang Commander with Duplicant’s first ability, your cunning opponent activates the Commander's ability in response, and sacrifices it to pay the ability cost. Duplicant's ability gets countered on resolution, and Duplicant remains itself.

Note that Duplicant's triggered ability is not related in any way to casting it. You cannot counter Duplicant by getting its triggered ability countered. Those are two independent objects. As a matter of fact, the trigger goes off only after Duplicant has actually entered the battlefield.

Alright, we got it, Duplicant has invaded the field and its trigger resolves.You exile target non-token creature. Now's the time for the second ability to be set in motion, and this one is static. It means there is no such moment when it is on the stack or resolves. It functions the entire time while Duplicant is on the battlefield.

Duplicant's abilities are linked, which means its second ability refers to the last card in the exile zone sent there as a result of resolving its first ability, not any other card exiled in any other way.

Duplicant
Myr Welder
Mirrorweave

If Duplicant becomes a copy of Myr Welder through Mirrorweave's effect, and an artifact creature had been exiled with Myr Welder's activated ability previously, Duplicant will be linked to the exiled creature, but only as long as Mirrorweave's effect lasts, just as any other creature. When it expires, Duplicant will not be able to refer to the creature card exiled with Myr Welder's ability.

Why did the text get updated in relation to the last exiled card? How can there be more than one?

Strionic Resonator

Here is the card that caused Duplicant to get the new text. When using Strionic Resonator's ability, you may copy Duplicant's ability and thus exile two (or more) different creatures at once. How are you supposed to determine the type and power/toughness? No real way. Each creature has its own set of these characteristics. What do we do? Pick one!

When Duplicant's trigger is copied, the copy is put onto the stack above the original. It attempts to resolve first. Duplicant will usually have the stats of the creature chosen as target of the original Imprint trigger, because it will be attempting to resolve last. Of course, any triggered ability may become countered, and then, in theory, some other target may be that last creature exiled with the first ability.

The second ability will only be effective if the card exiled with Duplicant's first ability continues to be exiled, and is still a creature card. If that isn’t true, Duplicant becomes itself: a 2/4 Shapeshifter.

Chimeric Mass

You imprint Chimeric Mass while it is a creature. When it is exiled, it is a noncreature artifact. Duplicant cannot have its stats, it will be itself.

Riftsweeper

You imprint an enemy creature on Duplicant. The opponent targets it with Riftsweeper's ability, and as it resolves he shuffles it into his library. Duplicant does not get characteristics of a card that is no longer exiled.

Azusa, Lost but Seeking

If you target a Commander with Duplicant's first ability, then as the ability resolves, the Commander's owner may put it into the Command zone replacing its exile. As a result, it will not be imprinted. Duplicant will remain unchanged.

Finally, let us talk about the case when everything is as it should be: we imprint a creature and it resides in exile for the rest of the game. The ability effect states that Duplicant gets the creature types and P/T of the creature, while “still being a Shapeshifter”. Note that there is no mentioning any “copies”, Duplicant is not an instance of copying effects!

As usual, let us analyze the effect in parts.

Duplicant's Type

Part of Duplicant's second ability grants it the types of the last creature exiled with its first ability. It has the addition “It's still a Shapeshifter”. Suprisingly, Duplicant preserves all creature types it currently has, and gains the creature types of the creature exiled with its ability:

Rise from the Grave

When you return Duplicant to the battlefield using Rise from the Grave, it will have Shapeshifter, Zombie and all the types of the creature you exile with its first ability.

Amoeboid

If you imprint an Amoeboid Changeling, your Duplicant has all creature types. Since the Amoeba's ability is CDA, it functions in all zones including the exile. Amoeba has all creature types, so Duplicant “inherits” them.

Dryad Arbor

By exiling a Dryad Arbor we get a Duplicant with subtypes Shapeshifter and Dryad. However, our Duplicant will not be a Forest, as Forest is a land type, not a creature type.

Duplicant's Power and Toughness

Finally, the most fun part. As I have already mentioned, Duplicant's second ability functions all the time, and therefore constantly checks the exiled creature's stats. What a caring ability :)

Knight of the Reliquary

Knight of the Reliquary's ability is usually static. It functions only while the Knight is on the battlefield. So it doesn’t really matter how many lands its owner has in his or her graveyard, Duplicant with an imprinted Knight will be 2/2.

Tarmogoyf

Tarmogoyf has a CDA, and it works in any zone, so your Duplicant that exiled a Tarmo will be growing with each new card type hitting any graveyard.

Phyrexian Metamorph

The cunning opponent copies something terrible with the artifact creature. You unleash your Duplicant and choose the Metamorph as the target to imprint. Metamorph goes to exile where it becomes itself, i.e. 0/0. Your Duplicant dies as soon as SBA are performed.


  1. Commander (or General) is a legendary creature that begins the game in the Command zone and defines the deck colors and land types in Commander (or EDH) format.
  2. All cards in exile zone have no controller. For effects requesting a card's controller, we use its owner. Refer to Everything under control for more details.

Translated by Witas Spasovski

МЕНЮ
Как работают карты MTG
Duplicant

Duplicant English

Обновлено 10.12.2017

Сегодня у нас в гостях ещё один очень известный любитель изменяться.

Duplicant

Оракл-текст:

Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter

Imprint — When Duplicant enters the battlefield, you may exile target nontoken creature.

As long as a card exiled with Duplicant is a creature card, Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature types of the last creature card exiled with Duplicant. It's still a Shapeshifter.


Артефакт Существо — Имитатор

Отпечаток — Когда Duplicant выходит на поле битвы, вы можете изгнать целевое существо, не являющееся фишкой.

Пока карта, изгнанная Duplicant, является картой существа, Duplicant имеет силу, выносливость и подтипы существа последней изгнанной Duplicant карты существа. Он остаётся Имитатором.

Duplicant имеет два типа карты: Артефакт и Существо:

Кислотная Слизь

Duplicant является легальной целью для способности Кислотной Слизи, так как имеет тип карты Артефакт.

Decimate

Вы можете выбрать Duplicant в качестве цели для Decimate дважды: и как существо, и как артефакт.

У Duplicant'а подтип существа Имитатор. С этим типом никаких особых свойств не связано.

В стоимости Duplicant'а нет символов цветной маны, следовательно, по определению он не имеет никакого цвета. Цвет он может получить благодаря какому-либо эффекту (Превращение в Лягушку).

Duplicant имеет две способности. Первая, помеченная ключевым словом Отпечаток или Imprint, является триггерной и срабатывает, когда Duplicant выходит на поле битвы. Причём совершенно не важно, каким образом он там появляется, главное, чтобы он действительно вышел на поле битвы.

Мастер Превращений

Активировав способность Мастера Превращений, вы можете поднять своего Duplicant'а в руку и выложить на поле боя его же. Это вызовет срабатывание EtB-триггера и вы сможете изгнать [ещё одно] существо.

Фирексийский Метаморф

Если Фирексийский Метаморф выходит на поле битвы как копия Duplicant'а, то срабатывает его триггерная способность.

Двойник Димиров

Если вы активировали способность Двойника Димиров и изгнали Duplicant'а из кладбища, то Двойник Димиров становится копией Duplicant'а, но Imprint не сработает, потому что Duplicant не выходил на поле битвы, а просто изменил характеристики.

Триггерная способность Duplicant'а имеет слово «цель» в своём тексте, а следовательно, является целящей. Это означает, что вы обязаны выбрать целевое существо, если таковое найдётся на поле битвы. Если легальных целей нет, то триггер просто удаляется из стека. Если цель стала нелегальной на разрешении триггера, то он отменяется.

Duplicant

Если Duplicant выходит на поле битвы в гордом одиночестве, то ничего страшного не происходит. Вы выбираете целью его триггерной способности его самого, а на разрешении способности решаете не изгонять целевое существо.

Призрачный Образ

Если на поле битвы вы заметили вражеского Призрачного Образа, который является копией какого-либо устрашающего существа, то вы можете от него избавиться, поцелив его способностью Duplicant'а. Обратите внимание, что изгонять будет нечего потому что к моменту разрешения способности Duplicant'а, Призрачный Образ уже будет на кладбище владельца.

Командир Осадчиков

Вы поцелили Командира Осадчиков первой способностью Duplicant'а, а в ответ коварный оппонент активировал способность Командира и в оплату способности пожертвовал его самого. Способность Duplicant'а отменилась. Duplicant останется сам собой.

Обратите внимание на то, что разрешение или отмена триггерной способности Duplicant'а никак не влияет на его розыгрыш. Нельзя отменить Duplicant'а, отменив его триггерную способность. Это совершенно два разных объекта. И, кстати, триггер сработает только после того, как Duplicant окажется на поле битвы.

Итак, случилось. Duplicant вышел на поле битвы, и разрешился его триггер. Вы изгнали целевое существо, не являющееся фишкой. Теперь дело за второй способностью, которая является статической. Это значит, что нет такого момента, когда она «разрешается». Она действует всегда в течение того времени, пока Duplicant находится на поле битвы.

Cпособности Duplicant'а являются связанными, а это значит, что его вторая способность ссылается на последнюю карту в зоне изгнанных карт, которая была отправлена туда в результате разрешения его первой способности и никаким другим образом.

Duplicant
Миэр-Сварщик
Зеркальный Узор

Если под действием эффекта Зеркального Узора Duplicant стал копией Миэра-Сварщика, и была активирована способность Миэра-Сварщика, в результате разрешения которой было изгнано Существо Артефакт, то когда эффект Зеркального Узора перестанет действовать, вторая способность Duplicant'а не сможет ссылаться на карту существа, изгнанную способностью Миэра-Сварщика.

Почему в тексте этой способности появилось дополнение про последнюю изгнанную карту? Как их может быть больше одной?

Стрионический Резонатор

Вот та самая карта, из-за которой Дубликант получил новый текст. Используя способность Стрионического Резонатора, вы можете скопировать триггер Duplicant'а и таким образом изгнать два (или больше) разных существа. Как тогда определить, какими будут значения силы и выносливости Duplicant'а? Правильно, никак. Два существа дают два разных набора этих характеристик. Что делать? Выбрать одно из них!

Если триггер Duplicant'а копируется, то он помещается в стек выше оригинала, а значит, имеет шанс разрешится первым. Дубликант практически всегда будет иметь характеристики карты, выбранной целью оригинального триггера Отпечатка. Потому что именно он будет разрешаться последним. Конечно же всегда есть вероятность того, что оригинальный триггер отменят и тогда...

Эффект второй способности будет действовать, только если карта, которая действительно была изгнана первой способностью Дупликанта, продолжает находиться в изгнании и при этом является картой существа. Если эти условия не выполняются, то Duplicant остается в своем собственном обличии: 2/4 Имитатор.

Химерическая Громада

Вы отпечатали на Duplicant'е Химерическую Громаду в состоянии существа. В изгнании это артефакт, не являющийся существом. Duplicant не может получить его характеристики.

Чистильщик Разломов

Вы отпечатали вражеское существо на Duplicant. Оппонент целит его способностью Чистильщика Разломов, на разрешении затасовывает его в свою библиотеку. Duplicant не может получить характеристики от карты, которой уже нет в изгнании.

Azusa, Lost but Seeking

Если вы поцелили Командира первой способностью Duplicant'а, то на разрешении этой способности владелец Командира может отправить его в Командную зону, следовательно, Командир не отпечатается. Duplicant останется без изменений.

Наконец, поговорим о том варианте, когда всё в порядке: мы отпечатали существо, и оно тихо мирно лежит себе в изгнании. Эффект способности говорит о том, что Duplicant получает P/T существа и его тип, при этом остается Имитатор. Обратите внимание, что в тексте способности нет слова «копирует», а это значит, что к эффектам копирования Duplicant не имеет никакого отношения!

Как обычно, рассмотрим эффект по частям.

Подтипы Duplicant'а

Часть эффекта второй способности Duplicant'а даёт ему подтипы существа, изгнанного первой способностью. И имеет дополнение: «Он остаётся Имитатором». Как ни странно, но по правилам оно говорит о том, что Duplicant сохраняет все типы существа, которые у него есть, и добавляет типы существа, изгнанного его первой способностью:

Восстать из Могилы

Если вы подняли Duplicant'а на поле битвы при помощи Восстать из Могилы, то у него будут типы Имитатор, Зомби и все типы того существа, что вы изгнали его первой способностью.

Перевертыш-Амеба

Если вы отпечатали Перевертыша-Амёбу, то ваш Duplicant имеет все типы существ. Поскольку способность Амебы является OXC, то она действует во всех зонах, в том числе и в зоне изгнанных карт. Амеба имеет все типы существ, а следовательно их «наследует» и Duplicant.

Жилище Дриад

Изгнав Жилище Дриад, мы получим Duplicant'а с подтипами Имитатор и Дриада. А вот Лесом наш Duplicant не будет, потому что Лес — это подтип земли, а не тип существа.

Сила и Выносливость Duplicant'а

Наконец, самое веселое. Как я уже говорила, вторая способность Duplicant'а действует постоянно и, соответственно, постоянно проверяет характеристики существа в изгнании. Заботливая такая способность. :)

Рыцарь Реликвария

Способность Рыцаря Реликвария является обычной статической. Она действует только пока Рыцарь находится на поле битвы. Так что неважно, сколько там у его владельца земель на кладбище, Duplicant будет 2/2.

Тармогойф

Тармогойф имеет ОХС, так что она действует в любой зоне. Так что ваш Duplicant, изгнавший Тармо, будет толстеть с каждой картой нового типа, попавшей на кладбище.

Фирексийский Метаморф

Коварный оппонент скопировал что-то опасное. Вы вывели на поле битвы Duplicant и выбрали Метаморфа целью для Отпечатка. Метаморф отправляется в изгнание, где становится сам собой, т.е. 0/0. Ваш Duplicant быстро гибнет в результате применения ДВС.


  1. Командир или Генерал — Легендарное существо, имеющее особые свойства и определяющее цвета карт и используемые земли в колоде в формате Командир (Commander) или EDH.
  2. У карты в зоне изгнания нет контроллера. Для эффектов, запрашивающих контроллера карты, используется её владелец. Подробнее см. Всё под контролем.

ВКонтакте
Facebook