MENU
How Magic Cards work
Trinisphere

Trinisphere Russian

Last Modified 10.02.2018

Trinisphere it is one of staple cards in the Eternal formats and players ask so many questions about it.

Trinisphere

Oracle Text:

Artifact

As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast.

In fact, it’s pretty easy™ (I wonder if I ever say differently about a card):

  1. If you are about to pay for a spell less than 3 mana, you get to pay 3 mana. Whatever else you might do as a payment is irrelevant. Trinisphere only cares about mana part of the total casting cost.
  2. Trinisphere’s effect is applied the last to define total cost.

The rest is details.

At one of the latter stages of casting spells a player defines its total cost:

Total cost is a spell’s mana cost or alternative cost, plus all additional costs, plus all effects that increase mana cost, minus all effects that decrease mana cost.

So, Trinisphere looks at the total cost after accounting for all plusses and minuses, checks the cost and adds generic mana to it to make it three. As a result, we get a final total cost that is then fixed and has to be payed in order to successfully finish the casting.

Let’s start from the easy things. Alternative costs:

Force of Will

Force of Will cast for its alternative cost has total casting cost: 1 life and exile of a blue card from the hand. What’s the mana part of its total cost? There’s none. So, Trinisphere’s effect says “Add 3 mana”. The final cost then will be: {3}, 1 life and exile of a blue card from the hand. Meh!

Ancestral Vision

Ancestral Vision can be cast on resolution of the Suspend trigger without paying its mana cost. Total casting cost: none. Trinisphere’s effect says “Add 3 mana”. Finally, we get total casting cost: {3}.

Isochron Scepter

You cast an instant spell without additional costs that is imprinted on Isochron Scepter. What is its total cost? Nothing. What’s the mana part of the cost? It has none. Trinisphere’s effect says “Add 3 mana”. Finally, the total casting cost: {3}.

You can use other kind of additional costs:

Bloodbraid Elf

Casting a spell you’ve “cascaded” into allows you to pay the additional costs of that spell, such as Kickers. If the mana part of the total casting cost is then less than 3, Trinisphere’s effect will make you increase it to 3.

Dread Return

Casting Dread Return for its Flashback cost involves no mana payment. Can you hear it now?

Exterminate!

Pay more!

Chord of Calling

Convoke is not an additional cost. So, first, you define the total cost of the spell, applying Trinisphere effect the last. You then may pay that cost using either mana or tapping creatures.

Note that Trinisphere doesn’t allow you to cast spells with no mana cost. According to the rules, an “empty” mana cost (unlike {0} cost) cannot be paid and this can’t be changed just by applying the cost modifying effects. To cast a spell with an “empty” cost you need an effect that allows you to cast it without paying its mana cost. In the example above Suspend provides you with such an effect, not Trinisphere.

Trinisphere is absolutely ignorant about the CMC of the spell. And naturally, it changes neither spell’s mana cost nor its CMC:

Morph

If you cast a morph, then its CMC is 0, but the total casting cost is {3}. Trinisphere is fine with that, no additional payment is required.

Gatekeeper of Malakir

If you cast Gatekeeper of Malakir with Kicker then its CMC is 2 and total casting cost is {BBB}. Trinisphere is content. You pay {BBB}, but your opponent still can easily counter your Gatekeeper with Spell Snare.

Dismember

If you are casting Dismember by paying life for it, its mana cost stays {1}{P/B}{P/B}, CMC is 3 and total cost is {1} and 4 life. Trinisphere is upset and wants 2 more mana to be paid. As a result you get to pay {3} and 4 lifes.

Let’s make the scenario more complex by adding the effects that modify the total casting cost.

Rift Bolt
Thalia, Guardian of Thraben

There is Thalia, Guardian of Thraben on the battlefield. If you cast Rift Bolt as it’s Suspend trigger resolves, its alternative cost is without paying its mana cost. Thalia’s effect adds {1} and total cost bocomes {1}. Trinisphere’s effect asks paying {3}, so Rift Bolt will cost {3}.

Shining Shoal
Grand Arbiter Augustin IV
Alabaster Leech

Shining Shoal that is cast for its alternative cost (exile of Disenchant from the hand) with Grand Arbiter Augustin IV on the battlefield has total cost: exile Disenchant from the hand. The Trinisphere’s effect insists on paying 3 mana and is applied after Augustin’s effect that could affect the mana part of the white Shoal’s casting cost which has none. In the end, the total cost is: {3} + exile Disenchant from the hand.

Shining Shoal that is cast for its alternative cost (exile of Disenchant from the hand) with Alabaster Leech on the battlefield has total cost: exile Disenchant from the hand + {W}. The Trinisphere’s effect insists on paying 3 mana and is applied after Alabaster Leech’s effect that increases the white Shoal’s casting cost. So, the total cost is: {2W} + exile Disenchant from the hand.

There both Grand Arbiter Augustin IV and Alabaster Leech on the battlefield. Shining Shoal that is cast for its alternative cost (exile Disenchant from the hand) will have total cost: exile Disenchant from the hand + {W} (cost increases are accounted first} + … that’s it. Grand Arbiter Augustin IV only decreases cost if it has colorless mana, but there’s none. After the calculations we see that Trinisphere is bashing the table with its boot and demands additional payment. So, in the end we have: {2W} + exile Disenchant from the hand.

Now, I think, is a good time to discuss the spells that aren’t cast. Copies created by Storm, Replicate and Gravestorm are not cast! They are simply put on the stack.

Shattering Spree

During the casting of Shattering Spree with Replicate you can pay the additional cost. Let’s say that you’ve chosen to pay {RR}, so the total casting cost of Shattering Spree is {RRR} and Trinisphere is satisfied with that.

What’s next? Next, the ability that creates 2 copies of Shattering Spree triggers. On resolution of that ability you put them on the stack without casting, so Trinishpere doesn’t care about them.

Can I refuse to pay when I have to, but really don’t want to? In the following case you can:

Greater Gargadon

On resolution of the Suspend trigger you have to cast the spell if you can. But Trinisphere insists that you pay {3}. Nobody and nothing can make you activate the mana abilities to actually get those 3 mana. So, if on resolution of the trigger you don’t have 3 mana in your mana pool, you can’t cast the spell. It remains exiled.

If you do have 3 mana in your mana pool, you’ll have to pay them and cast the suspended spell.

Also, sometimes you don’t have to pay the additional mana for Trinisphere. That’s when it is tapped! You forgot that, didn’t you?

Shared Discovery
Trinisphere
Tezzeret the Seeker

You’ve activated Tezzereth’s ultimate ability and turned all your artifacts including Trinisphere into creatures. Let’s assume you’ve got exactly 4 untapped creatures and now you are trying to cast Shared Discovery by tapping them all for its additional cost. Will you have to pay additional mana because of Trinisphere?

Solution ⇓

The answer is yes. Let’s see. During casting of the spell we define its total casting cost which is tap of 4 creatures and {U} in our case. After that we apply the Trinisphere’s effect that lusts for blood two more mana. So, we get the cost: {2U} + tap of 4 untapped creatures. It is then fixed. Only after that we get to activate the mana abilities and then pay the cost. This is exactly when we are tapping Trinisphere. But the cost has been fixed already and the game doesn’t care now that the Trinisphere is tapped.

Fun for the dessert:

Dryad Arbor

Does one need to pay {3} while playing Dryad Arbor?

Of course, not! It isn’t even a spell. It is even printed on it!

Show and Tell

Does one need to pay mana for the permanent put on the battlefield with Show and Tell?

No. No spells — no payments.

Симианский Проводник Духов

How much would it cost to get {R} from the Guide?

It would cost: exile Simian Spirit Guide from the hand. This is activation of ability, not casting of a spell. Trinisphere doesn’t care.


  1. Ultimate ability is a common slang name for the last ability listed on a Planeswalker.

Translated by Lev Kotlyar

МЕНЮ
Как работают карты MTG
Trinisphere

Trinisphere English

Обновлено 18.11.2017

Тринисфера — одна из тех карт, которой играют в вечных форматах и про которую непременно задают кучу вопросов.

Trinisphere

Оракл-текст:

Artifact

As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast.


Артефакт

Пока Тринисфера развёрнута, каждое заклинание, розыгрыш которого стоит меньше трёх ман, стоит три маны.

На самом деле Trinisphere работает очень просто:

  1. Если вы собираетесь заплатить за заклинание меньше трёх ман, то придётся платить все три. И не важно, что вы там ещё делаете в качестве оплаты. Тринисферу интересует только мановая часть полной стоимости.
  2. Эффект Trinisphere применяется для определения полной стоимости последним из всех.

Всё остальное нюансы.

На одном из последних этапов розыгрыша заклинания определяется его полная стоимость:

Полная стоимость — это мановая или альтернативная стоимость, плюс все дополнительные стоимости, плюс увеличения стоимости, минус уменьшения стоимости.

Так что Тринисфера рассматривает полную стоимость после учёта всех плюсов и минусов. Затем оценивает мановую часть этой самой стоимости и дополняет её до трёх, в результате мы получаем окончательную полную стоимость, которая фиксируется и подлежит оплате.

Начнем с простого. Альтернативные стоимости:

Force of Will

Force of Will, сыгранная за альтернативную стоимость имеет полную стоимость: 1 жизнь, изгнание синей карты из руки. Какова мановая часть полной стоимости? Её просто нет. Так что эффект Тринисферы говорит: «Добавьте ещё 3 маны». Итого получаем окончательную полную стоимость: {3}, 1 жизнь, изгнание синей карты из руки. Не айс.

Родовое Видение

Родовое Видение разыгрывается на разрешении триггера Отсрочки без оплаты мановой стоимости. Полная стоимость: ничего. Эффект Тринисферы говорит: «Добавьте ещё 3 маны». Итого получаем окончательную полную стоимость: {3}.

Isochron Scepter

Вы разыгрываете мгновенное заклинание без дополнительных стоимостей, отпечатанное на Isochron Scepter. Какова его полная стоимость: ничего. Какова мановая часть полной стоимости? Её нет. Эффект Тринисферы говорит: «Добавь ещё 3 маны». Итого получаем окончательную полную стоимость: {3}.

Можно воспользоваться и другими видами альтернативной стоимости:

Кровавокосый Эльф

Розыгрыш карты «с Каскада» позволяет оплатить дополнительные стоимости, например, Усилитель. Если мановая часть полной стоимости разыгрываемого заклинания будет содержать меньше трёх ман, эффект Тринисферы увеличит её до трёх.

Ужасный Возврат

Розыгрыш Ужасного Возврата через Воспоминание не предполагает оплаты мановой стоимости. Вы уже слышите?

Exterminate!

— Доплатить!

Призывный Аккорд

Созыв не является дополнительной стоимостью. Поэтому вы сначала определяете полную стоимость заклинания, затем применяете к ней эффект Тринисферы... а после этого можете оплатить полученную стоимость, как маной, так и поворотом существ.

Заметим, что Тринисфера сама по себе не даёт возможности разыграть заклинание, не имеющее мановой стоимости. Согласно правилам, «пустую» мановую стоимость (в отличие от стоимости {0}) невозможно оплатить, и это нельзя изменить просто добавив к ней требование доплаты. Чтобы разыграть заклинание с «пустой» мановой стоимостью, нужен эффект избавляющий от необходимости её оплаты. В вышеприведённом примере это делает эффект способности Отсрочка, а не Тринисфера.

Тринисферу совершенно не волнует CMC разыгрываемого заклинания. И, конечно же, эффект Тринисферы не влияет ни на мановую стоимость заклинания, ни на его CMC:

Оборотень

Если вы разыгрываете Оборотня, то его CMC=0, но полная стоимость тем не менее равна {3}. Тринисферу это устраивает. Ничего доплачивать не придётся.

Малакирский Привратник

Если вы разыгрываете Малакирского Привратника с Усилителем, то его CMC=2, а полная стоимость {BBB}. Тринисферу это устраивает. Вы платите {BBB}, но оппонент легко может отменить вашего Привратника при помощи Ловушки заклинаний.

Расчленить

Если вы разыгрываете Расчленить, оплачивая его жизнью, то его мановая стоимость остается равной {1}{P/B}{P/B}, CMC=3, полная стоимость {1} и 4 жизни. Тринисфера возмущена и требует ещё 2 маны. Итого вы заплатите {3} и 4 жизни.

Теперь усложним ситуацию, добавив эффекты, влияющие на полную стоимость:

Удар Разлома
Талия, Страж Трейбена

Если на поле битвы находится Талия, Страж Трейбена, и вы разгырываете Удар Разлома на разрешении триггера Отскочки, то его альтернативная стоимость — без оплаты мановой стоимости. Эффект Талии добавляет {1}, и полная стоимость становится равна {1}. Эффект Тринисферы, применямый после увеличения и уменьшения стоимостей, потребует заплатить {3}, следовательно Удар Разлома будет стоит {3}.

Shining Shoal
Верховный судья Августин IV
Alabaster Leech

Shining Shoal, сыгранный вами за альтернативную стоимость (изгнание Разочаровывать), при наличии Верховного судьи Августина IV под вашем контролем имеет полную стоимость «изгнать Разочаровывать». Эффект Тринисферы настаивает на оплате дополнительных трёх ман. При этом он применяется после эффекта Августина, который мог бы повлиять на мановую часть стоимости белого Шоала, которой у него нет. Итого нужно будет оплатить: {3} + изгнать Разочаровывать.

Shining Shoal, сыгранный ту же за альтернативную стоимость, при наличии Alabaster Leech на поле битвы имеет полную стоимость «изгнать Разочаровывать»+{W}. Эффект Тринисферы настаивает на доплате до трёх ман. При этом он применяется после эффекта Alabaster Leech, который увеличивает мановую часть стоимость белого Шоала. Итого нужно будет оплатить: {2W} + изгнать Разочаровывать.

Если вы контролируете Верховного судью Августина IV, а у оппонента под контролем есть Alabaster Leech, то ваш Shining Shoal, сыгранный за альтернативную стоимость (изгнание Разочаровывать), будет иметь полную стоимость «изгнать Разочаровывать»+{W} (увеличение стоимости учитывается первым) и... всё. Потому что Верховный судья Августин IV позволяет уменьшить стоимость в нецветной части, а таковой просто нет. После вычислений мы видим, что Тринисфера стучит ботинком по столу и требует доплатить. Итого: {2W} + изгнать Разочаровывать.

Теперь, думаю, самое время поговорить о тех заклинаниях, которые не играются. Копии от способностей Storm, Replicate или Gravestorm не разыгрывался! Они просто помещаются в стек.

Вакханалия разрушения

Разыгрывая Вакханалию разрушения с Репликейтом вы оплачивате дополнительную стоимость. Скажем, выбрав доплатить {RR}, вы получите полную стоимость Вакханалии разрушения равную {RRR}, что вполне устраивает Тринисферу.

А дальше? Дальше срабатывает триггер, который кладет в стек 2 копии Вакханалии разрушения, которые никогда не разыгрывались, так что Тринисферу они вообще не интересуют.

А можно не платить, когда надо, но не хочется? В одном случае можно:

Великий Гаргадон

На разрешении триггера Отсрочки вы обязаны разыграть это заклинание, если можете. Но Тринисфера настойчиво требует доплатить {3}. Заставить вас получить 3 маны никто не может. Так что, если на момент разрешения триггера у вас нет трёх ман в хранилище маны на подкорм Тринисферы, то вы можете не разыгрывать заклинание. Оно остаётся в изгнании.

Если же мана в пуле есть, то заплатить придётся. Ничего не поделаешь.

А ещё бывает, что вообще не надо платить. Если Тринисфера повёрнута. Правда, вы уже об этом забыли?

Совместная Находка
Trinisphere
Теззерет Искатель

Вы активировали ультимативную способность Теззерета Искателя, сделав все ваши артефакты, в том числе Тринисферу, существами. Допустим, у вас получилось ровно 4 (развёрнутых) существа, и вы пытаетесь разыграть Совместную Находку, повернув их в качестве дополнительной стоимости. Придётся ли доплачивать за Тринисферу?

Ответ ⇓

Как ни странно, да. Давайте разбираться. Во время розыгрыша заклинания мы определяем его полную стоимость: поворот четырёх существ и {U}. После этого применяется эффект Тринисферы, которая жаждет крови ещё 2 маны. Итого окончательная полная стоимость заклинания составляет поворот четырёх существ и {2U}. Она фиксируется. И только потом у нас появляется возможность разыграть мановые способности, а затем полностью оплатить заклинание. Тут-то мы и поворачивам Тринисферу. НО стоимость уже зафиксирована, и то, что эффект Тринисферы перестал действовать, игровую машину не интересует.

Ну, и веселье на закуску:

Жилище Дриад

Нужно ли доплачивать при розыгрыше Жилище Дриад?

Нет, конечно. Это земля, а не заклинание. На ней это даже написано (в версии издания Спирать Времени).

Show and Tell

Нужно ли доплачивать за перманенты, выложенные с Show and Tell?

Нет. Никаких заклинаний. Никаких доплат.

Симианский Проводник Духов

Сколько будет стоить получение {R} с Симианского Проводника Духов?

Изгнать Проводника из руки. Это активация способности, а не заклинание, Тринисферу она не интересует.


  1. Ультимативной обычно называют последнюю способность Planeswalker'а.

ВКонтакте
Facebook