How Magic Cards work
Tymaret, the Murder King

Tymaret, the Murder King Russian

Last Modified 16.01.2018

There would be nothing particularly surprising in Tymaret from Theros but his second ability.

Tymaret, the Murder King

Oracle Text:

Legendary Creature — Zombie Warrior

{1}{R}, Sacrifice another creature: Tymaret, the Murder King deals 2 damage to target player.

{1}{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Return Tymaret from your graveyard to your hand.

The hot question that worries the public is it possible to sacrifice the Tymaret using his second ability. The answer is hidden in the card's text. Let’s read it together.

The first things are first. A colon in the text, which separates the cost and effect indicates that both of Tymaret’s abilities are activated.

As you know common activated abilities may be activated any time you have priority, there are legal targets and you can pay the cost of the ability.

Only the first ability of Tymaret has a target. It can legally target only a player. You can’t choose a planeswalker as a target because a planeswalker is not a player! But there is also good news: this damage is not combat one and if you target an opponent (as happens usually) as the ability resolves you may redirect 2 damage to a Planeswalker under his control. “The obstinate beast should be killed.

Leyline of Sanctity

If the cunning opponent controls Leyline of Sanctity you can’t target him by an ability your control.

You cannot target a planeswalker either because the text of ability requires a target player, not a target planeswalker.

The redirection of damage occurs as the ability resolves but you may not activate it. Sad panda :(

Tymaret himself is the source of damage, so if it receives lifelink or infect then the damage will have corresponding consequences: you will get 2 life in case of lifelink, or your opponent will get 2 poison counters in case of infect.

Since the ability is an independent object on the stack, after activation it is not interested in the Tymaret’s fate anymore. Even if it leaves the battlefield the ability will resolve successfully and the target player will be dealt two damage. If you are still in doubt take a look at Mogg Fanatic’s text.

The second ability of Tymaret brings it back from the graveyard to your hand. The text of its effect immediately tells us two things:

  1. It means the same Tymaret, whose ability is activated, and not another one because the object is mentioned by name. The name is shortened, because Tymaret is legendary.
  2. This ability works only when Tymaret is in the graveyard! If Yixlid Jailer is on the battlefield, Tymaret has no abilities in the graveyard and there is nothing to activate.

There is a special rule on this matter:

112.6k An ability whose cost or effect specifies that it moves the object it’s on out of a particular zone functions only in that zone…

The “particular zone” is your graveyard. You move Tymaret into your hand from your graveyard. So we can make the obvious conclusion: no, Tymaret cannot be sacrificed to his own ability because only a permanent can be sacrificed and Tymaret is in the graveyard when the ability is activated.

Now let's look at the activation cost of these abilities. Is it now clear why the first ability requires to sacrifice “another creature” and the second — just “a creature”? The game use word “creature” only if it meas a permanent, i.e. card or token on the battlefield. That's the whole point. How it works?

Utilization of a chump blocker

Zombie token
Tymaret, the Murder King

If a cunning opponent attacks you with big and scary Tarmogoyf you can block him with a chubby zombie and then after receiving priority sacrifice it for the first ability of Tymaret. Opponent will get 2 damage and Tarmogoyf will remain blocked and will not cause us any combat damage.

Tymaret, Tymaret and the opponent

Different Tymarets on the battlefield are “another creature" for each other. Is it possible to have a moment to sacrifice one for the ability of the other?

Please, never. NEVER use the phrase “to have a moment” in relation to Magic. Magic is not a game of speed. The player can do something only if it is allowed or prescribed. So you really want to activate abilities. This may only be done if you have priority.

What happens when the second Tymaret comes under your control? For example, you cast it and the spell is resolved. Tymaret number two enters the battlefield. After performing SBA, one of which called “the legend rule”, only one Tymaret remains on the battlefield. Then all the triggers which triggered up to this moment are put on the stack. Then SBA are performed once again and only after that you receive priority and may do something but it’s too late: there is only one Tymaret on the battlefield under your control.

Mirror Gallery

If suddenly you control Mirror Gallery the “legend rule” does not apply, and nothing can stop you from sacrificing one Tymaret to the ability of another!

Tymaret, the Murder King vs Scavenging Ooze

Assume that your Tymaret is in the graveyard.

Tymaret, the Murder King
Scavenging Ooze

1. You activate Tymaret’s ability, the cunning opponent responds by Scavenging Ooze’s ability targeting Tymaret. What happens?

The ability of the Scavenging Ooze goes on the stack after the Tymaret's one and resolves first: Tymaret is exiled, Ooze gets its counter, the opponent gains one life. As Tymaret's ability resolves there is nothing to return.

2. The cunning opponent activates Scavenging Ooze’s ability targeting Tymaret, you respond by Tymaret's ability. What happens now?

Now, vice versa: first, Tymaret's ability resolves and it returns to your hand. Now, Scavenging Ooze’s ability tries to find its the only target and fails. So it fizzles. The cunning opponent will not get a life and his Ooze will not get a counter.

Translated by George Marenkov

MTG : Тимарет, Король Убийств // Tymaret, the Murder King
МЕНЮ
Как работают карты MTG
Тимарет, Король Убийств

Тимарет, Король Убийств
Tymaret, the Murder King English

Обновлено 01.07.2018

В Тимарете из Тероса не было бы ничего особо удивительного, если бы не его вторая способность.

Тимарет, Король Убийств

Оракл-текст:

Legendary Creature — Zombie Warrior

{1}{R}, Sacrifice another creature: Sacrifice another creature: Tymaret, the Murder King deals 2 damage to target player or planeswalker.

{1}{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Return Tymaret from your graveyard to your hand.


Легендарное Существо — Зомби Воин

{1}{R}, пожертвуйте другое существо: Тимарет, Король Убийств наносит 2 повреждения целевому игроку или planeswalker-у.

{1}{B}, пожертвуйте существо: верните Тимарета из вашего кладбища в вашу руку.

Главный вопрос, беспокоящий общественность, звучит так: можно ли пожертвовать Тимарета под его вторую способность? Если бы вопрошающие прочитали карту, то вопроса бы не возникло. Давайте сделаем это за них.

Первое, что нам стоит определить, это тип способностей. Обе они являются активируемыми. На это указывает двоеточие в тексте, которое разделяет стоимость и эффект.

Мы все знаем, что обычные активируемые способности можно активировать в любой момент, когда у нас есть приоритет, существуют легальные цели и вы можете оплатить стоимость способности. Из двух способностей Тимарета только первая имеет цель.

Источником повреждений является сам Тимарет, поэтому если он получит Цепь жизни или Инфекцию, то у этих повреждений будут соответствующие последствия: вы получите 2 жизни или оппонент получит 2 жетона яда.

Поскольку способность является независимым объектом в стеке, то после активации её не интересует судьба Тимарета. Даже если он покинет поле битвы, способность благополучно разрешится и целевой игрок получит два повреждения. Если вы до сих пор сомневаетесь посмотрите на Могг-Фанатика.

Вторая способность Тимарета возвращает его из кладбища в вашу руку. Текст её эффекта сразу же говорит нам о двух вещах:

  1. Имеется ввиду тот самый Тимарет, способность которого активирована, а не какой-то другой. Потому что в тексте эффекта объект упоминается по имени. Имя сокращено, потому что Тимарет легендарный.
  2. Эта способность работает, только когда Тимарет находится на кладбище! Если на поле битвы находится Икслидский Тюремщик, то у Тимарета на кладбище нет способностей и активировать нечего.

На этот счет имеется специальное правило:

112.6k  Способность, стоимость или эффект которой требуют перемещения несущего её объекта из указанной зоны, функционирует только в этой зоне…

В данном случае «указанная зона» — это наше кладбище. Именно оттуда мы перемещаем его в свою руку.

И отсюда со всей очевидностью следует вывод: нет, Тимарета нельзя пожертвовать под свою же способность, потому что пожертвовать можно только перманент, а Тимарет в момент активации способности находится на кладбище.

Теперь давайте посмотрим на стоимость активации этих способностей. Правда, стало понятно, почему в первой способности нужно пожертвовать другое существо, а во второй просто существо? Слово «существо» можно сказать только про перманент, т.е. карту или фишку на поле битвы. Вот и вся разгадка.

Как это работает?

Утилизация чапм-блокера

Тармогойф
Фишка Зомби
Тимарет, Король Убийств

Если коварный оппонент атакует нас огромным и страшным Тармогойфом, то мы можем поставить в блок хиленького Зомби, а затем, получив приоритет, пожертвовать его под первую способность Тимарета. Оппонент получит 2 в лицо, а Тармогойф останется заблокированным и не нанесет нам боевых повреждений.

Тимарет, Тимарет и оппонент

Разные Тимареты на поле битвы являются друг для друга «другим существом». Можно ли успеть пожертвовать одного под абилку другого?

Никогда, слышите, ни-ког-да! не употребляйте слова «успеть» по отношению к Магии. Магии не игра на скорость. Игрок может что-то сделать только в том случае если это разрешено или предписывается. В нашем случае мы очень хотим активировать способности. Это можно сделать только при наличии приоритета.

Что же происходит, когда второй Тимарет выходит под наш контроль? Например, мы его разыграли, и заклинание разрешается. Тимарет номер два выходит на поле битвы. После выполнения ДВС, одно из которых мы называем правилом легенд, на поле битвы остается один Тимарет. Потом в стек укладываются все триггеры, которые сработали к этому моменту, затем, ещё раз выполняются ДВС, и только после этого мы получаем приоритет и можем что-то сделать, но уже поздно: на поле битвы под нашим контролем один Тимарет.

Mirror Gallery

Если вдруг мы контролируем Mirror Gallery, то тогда правило легенд не работает, и ничего не может помешать нам пожертвовать одного Тимарета под абилку другого!

Тимарет vs Трупоедная Слизь

Наш Тимарет лежит на кладбище.

Тимарет, Король Убийств
 Трупоедная Слизь

1. Мы активируем его способность. В ответ коварный оппонент активирует способность Трупоедной Слизи, целя Тимарета. Что происходит?

Способность Трупоедной Слизи ложится в стек выше, чем способность Тимарета, а значит, разрешается первой: Тимарет изгоняется, на Слизь кладётся жетон, оппонент получает одну жизнь. На разрешении способности Тимарета возвращать уже нечего. :(

2. Коварный оппонент активирует способность Трупоедной Слизи, целя Тимарета. В ответ мы активируем его способность. Что происходит?

Теперь наоборот: первой разрешается способность Тимарета, и он возвращается в нашу руку. Теперь на разрешении способности Трупоедной Слизи проверяется легальность цели: а её уже нет, значит, способность не разрешается. Коварный оппонент не получит жизнь, а его Слизь не получит жетон.



ВКонтакте
Facebook