MENU
Judge School MTG
Copying of special cards

Copying of special cards Russian

Last Modified 30.07.2018

Continuing the conversation about coping permantns ask ourselves what do we do about cards that have two sets of characteristics? About flip cards, Morphs, double-faced cards or cards turned face down?

For such permanents it is important to know the object’s state which determines the copiable values.

706.3. The copy’s copiable values become the copied information, as modified by the copy’s status (see rule 110.6). Objects that copy the object will use the new copiable values.

Copying Face-down cards

— What is printed on a face-down card?

— The Magic card back.

— What are the copiable values of such a card?

— Those listed by the ability or rules that allowed the spell or permanent to be face down.

Manifest
Morph
Ixidron

A manifested card, a face-down Morph and Tarmogoyf turned face down by Ixidron’s effect have the exact same copiable values: Name: none; Mana cost: none; Color: none; Type: creature; Supertype, subtype, rules text: none; Power: 2; Toughness: 2. You get the idea. Reminds me of the Faceless…

Tezzeret, Cruel Machinist

The third ability of Tezzeret, Cruel Machinist makes unusual face down permanents.They’re 5/5 artifact creatures with no text, no name, no subtypes, and no mana cost.

If an effect turns the card face up, the effect causing it to be a 5/5 artifact creature ends:

707.8. As a face-down permanent is turned face up, its copiable values revert to its normal copiable values.

In fact, if we copy a face-down creature with Morph ability, nothing really changes. We still get the same “Faceless” — the game only sees copiable values of the copied creature in its current state. We shall not be able to pay the Morph cost to turn the copy face up, because the copy simply doesn’t have that ability and doesn’t know anything about it.

It’s an all different story if the copy is face down, while the original is (or at least was) a face-up creature with Morph.

(706.3.)

Example: A face-down Grinning Demon (a creature with morph) becomes a copy of a face-up Branchsnap Lorian (a 4/1 green creature with trample and morph G). The Demon’s characteristics become the characteristics of Branchsnap Lorian. However, since the creature is face down, it remains a 2/2 colorless creature with no name, types, or abilities, and no mana cost. It can be turned face up for G. If it’s turned face up, it will have the characteristics of Branchsnap Lorian.

Birchlore Rangers
Mirrorweave
Exalted Angel

A face-down Birchlore Rangers becomes a copy of a regular-state Exalted Angel (for example, through Mirrorweave). What do we get? A face-down 2/2 creature without mana cost, color etc. Not what you expected, eh?

Let’s figure out why it is so. What are the Angel’s copiable values? Quite right, the ones printed on it. The copy will have that set of values, BUT! it will still be face down, because copying doesn’t change the state of the permanent. The copy’s controller will be able to perform the special action — turn the Morph face up by paying the angel’s Morph cost and get himself a full-fledged angel.

(706.3.)

Example: A face-down Grinning Demon (a creature with morph) becomes a copy of Wandering Ones (a 1/1 blue Spirit creature that doesn’t have morph). It will be a face-down Wandering Ones. It remains a 2/2 colorless creature with no name, types, or abilities, and no mana cost. Its controller can’t turn it face up as a special action. If an effect turns it face up, it will have the characteristics of Wandering Ones.

Тармогойф лицом вниз
Break Open
Мститель из Серры

In case if the face-down Morph becomes a copy of a creature without the Morph ability (such as Serra Avenger), we get a 2/2 creature without mana cost etc., which doesn’t have the Morph ability. It cannot be turned face up normally, as there is no Morph cost, but if an effect turns it face up at some point (Break Open), we get the normal Serra Avenger.

Coping flip cards

”Flip, flap, twiddle, tap”

Time to look at another sort of “twisters”, namely flip cards from Kamigawa set.

Akki Lavarunner
Stabwhisker the Odious

These cards have the same color and mana cost regardless of the state. But the name, type, subtype, supertype and rules text depend on whether the card is flipped or not.

706.3. The copy’s copiable values become the copied information, as modified by the copy’s status (see rule 110.6). Objects that copy the object will use the new copiable values.

Example: Tomoya the Revealer (a flipped flip card) becomes a copy of Nezumi Shortfang (an unflipped flip card). Tomoya’s characteristics become the characteristics of Stabwhisker the Odious, which is the flipped version of Nezumi Shortfang.

Sakashima the Impostor
Homura, Human Ascendant
Jushi Apprentice

Sakashima the Impostor, being a copy of Homura, Human Ascendant, hits the graveyard. The trigger goes off, and returns it onto the battlefield flipped. If at the time it enters the battlefield we choose Jushi Apprentice to be copied, we get this creature as a result:

Sakashima the Impostor, {1U}, 2/3;
Legendary РЎreature — Human Wizard;
3UU, TAP: Target player draws X cards, where X is the number of cards in your hand.
{2UU}: Return Sakashima the Impostor to its owner’s hand at the beginning of the next end step.

Dimir Doppelganger becomes a copy of Budoka Gardener and flips using the Gardener’s ability. If Dimir Doppelganger becomes a copy of Wizened Cenn after that, it will preserve its state “flipped”, which will not affect the Cenn in any way. If it then becomes a copy of Bushi Tenderfoot at some point, it will have the copiable values of Kenzo the Hardhearted.

Пример копирования флип-карт

Copying two-faced card

Magic is facing the return of the double-faced cards in the upcoming Shadows over Innistrad block. They have the following special rule written for them:

706.8 When copying a double-faced permanent, a face-up meld card, or a melded permanent, only the copiable values of the face that’s currently up are copied. (See rule 711, “Double-Faced Cards,”and rule 712, “Meld Cards.”)

711.4 Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.

711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of itsfront face.

711.4b While a double-faced permanent’s back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.

Mirage Mirror
Insectile Aberration
Ratchet Bomb

Mirage Mirror that is a copy of Insectile Aberration has no information about characteristics of Delver of Secrets.

If cunning opponent activates the second ability of Ratchet Bomb with one charge counter, as it resolves only the original Insectile Aberration will be destroyed since it has CMC=1 (as Delver of Secrets). The copy’s CMC=0.

711.5 Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 701.26, "Transform.") If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn’t represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

Example: A Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Wildblood Pack (the back face of a double-faced card). The Clone will be a copy of the Wildblood Pack. Because the Clone is itself not a double-faced card, it can’t transform.

Example: A player casts Citoshape, causing a Kruin Outlaw (the front face of a double-faced card) to become a copy of Elite Vanguard (a 2/1 Human Soldier creature) until end of turn. The player then casts Moonmist, which reads, in part, "Transform all Humans." Because the copy of Elite Vanguard is a double-faced card, it will transform. The resulting permanent will have its back face up, but it will still be a copy of Elite Vanguard that turn.

Phyrexian Metamorph
Civilized Scholar
Homicidal Brute

Phyrexian Metamorph enters the battlefield as a copy of Civilized Scholar with its front face up, it will know nothing about Homicidal Brute, and none of Homicidal Brute’s characteristics are copied. And since only cards that have two sides can transform, the Phyrexian Metamorph in the shape of Civilized Scholar cannot transform even if you discard a creature as its ability resolves.

If a double-faced card becomes a copy of something else, the new copiable values will replace its characteristics until the end of the copying effect, even if this double-faced card transforms. Ref. second example of 711.5.

When a double-faced card that is copying anything has to transform, it does so, since it physically has two faces, but its characteristics will still correspond to what it is copying, even if the copied object is itself one face of a double-faced card:

Gatstaf Shepherd
Mirrorweave
Bloodline Keeper

If you cast Mirrorweave targeting Bloodline Keeper, your Gatstaf Shepherd becomes a copy of it as it resolves. By activating Bloodline Keeper’s ability, the Shepherd will transform since it is a double-faced card, but you will still have a copy of Bloodline Keeper until end of turn. But when Mirrorweave’s effect ends, you will have Gatstaf Howler (the back face of Gatstaf Shepherd).

Coping Meld Cards

Meld cards are less intuitive than double-faced ones. Let’s read rules:

706.8 When copying a double-faced permanent, a face-up meld card, or a melded permanent, only the copiable values of the face that’s currently up are copied. (See rule 711, "Double-Faced Cards,"and rule 712, "Meld Cards.")

701.35c If an effect instructs a player to meld cards that can’t be melded, they stay in their current zone.

Example: A player owns and controls Midnight Scavengers and a token that’s a copy of Graf Rats. At the beginning of combat, both are exiled but can’t be melded. Midnight Scavengers remains exiled and the exiled token ceases to exist.

Just like double-faced cards, a copy of face-up meld card know nothing about other face and may not be melted.

712.3b While the two cards of a meld pair are on the battlefield as a melded permanent, the object represented by those cards has only the characteristics of the combined back face, and its converted mana cost is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. If a permanent is copying a melded permanent, the converted mana cost of the copy is 0. See rule 202.3c.

712.3c Anything that needs information about a meld card or a melded permanent sees only the information given by the face that is currently up.

Example: A Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Chittering Host (the combined back face of a meld pair). It has the characteristics of Chittering Host, even though the object it becomes is represented by only a single card, and its convered mana cost is 0.

Homework

A player controls Essence of the Wild. Deathmist Raptor is manifested.That are the characteristics of this card? Mayit be turned face up and wich way?

Solution ⇓

A manifested card entering the battlefield will be a face-down copy of Essence of the Wild: 2/2 creature without mana cost, name, color, type and subtype. But it may be turned face up by paying {3GGG}. It may not be unmorthed by Megamorph ability.

Nighteyes the Desecrator (the second part of Nezumi Graverobber) hits the graveyard, a player pays on resolution of Cemetery Puca’s trigger. What does he get?

Solution ⇓

Puca isn’t a flipped card, so he gets Nezumi Graverobber with Puca’s ability to change its shape.

Will it retain this ability when the rat flips later on?

Thanks to Mirrorweave’s effect Bruna, the Fading Light becomes copy of Hanweir Garrison. Bruna’s controller activates the third ability of his Hanweir Battlements. What happens nex?

Solution ⇓

Both card are exiled. The end.

Translated by Witas Spasovski

МЕНЮ
Судейская школа MTG
Копирование необычных карт

Копирование необычных карт
Copying of special cards English

Обновлено 30.01.2018

Продолжая разговор о копировании перманентов зададимся вопросом: «Как быть с картами, имеющими два набора характеристик? С Оборотнями, двухсторонними картами или с обычными существами, перевернутыми лицом вниз в результате какого-либо эффекта?»

Для такого рода перманентов всегда важно знать статус, который и определяет, как изменяются копируемые величины.

706.3 Копируемые величины копии становятся копируемой информацией, модифицируемой статусом копии (См. правило 110.6). Объекты, копирующие этот объект, будут использовать новые копируемые значения.

Копирование карт, лежащих лицом вниз

Планета Шелезяка. Полезных ископаемых нет. Воды нет. Растительности нет. Населена роботами.

«Тайна третьей планеты»

— Что напечатано на карте, лежащей лицом вниз?

— Рубашка карты Магии.

— А каковы копируемые величины такой карты?

— Название — нет; мановая стоимость — нет; цвет — отсутствует; тип — существо; подтип, супертип, текст правил — нет; сила — 2, выносливость — 2. В общем, «населена роботами».

Воплощённая карта
Оборотень
Иксидрон

Воплощённая карта, разыгранный лицом вниз Оборотень или Тармогойф, которого перевернул лицом вниз эффект Иксидрона, имеют одни и те же копируемые величины.

Поэтому, если мы копируем существо со способностью Оборотень, лежащее лицом вниз, ничего по большому счету не меняется. Мы получим всё того же «робота»: игровая машина видит только копируемые величины. Мы не сможем заплатить стоимость Оборотня и перевернуть копию Оборотня лицом вверх, ибо у копии такой способности просто нет.

Другое дело, если копия лежит лицом вниз, а оригинал является существом со способностью Оборотень, лежащим лицом вверх.

(706.3)

Пример: Лежащий лицом вниз Grinning Demon (существо со способностью Оборотень) становится копией лежащего лицом вверх Branchsnap Lorian (зеленое существо 4/1 с Пробивным ударом и Оборотнем {G}). Характеристики Демона становятся характеристиками Branchsnap Lorian. Однако, так как это существо лежит лицом вниз, то оно остается бесцветным существом 2/2 без имени, типа, способностей и мановой стоимости. Оно может быть перевернуто лицом вверх за {G}. После переворота оно будет иметь характеристики Branchsnap Lorian.

Birchlore Rangers
Зеркальный Узор
Exalted Angel

Лежащий лицом вниз Birchlore Rangers становится копией Exalted Angel в обычном состоянии (например, благодаря эффекту Зеркального Узора). В этом случае мы получим существо 2/2 без цвета, мановой стоимости и пр., лежащее лицом вниз.

Давайте разберёмся, почему так происходит. Каковы копируемые величины Ангела? Правильно. Те, что на нём напечатаны. Следовательно, копия будет обладать всем набором величин, но при этом остаётся лежащей лицом вниз (ведь копирование не меняет статус перманента). Контроллер копии может выполнить специальное действие — перевернуть Оборотня лицом вверх, в результате получив полноценного Ангела.

(706.3)

Пример: Лежащий лицом вниз Grinning Demon (существо со способностью Оборотень) становится копией Wandering Ones (синее существо Дух 1/1, не имеющее способности Оборотень). Он будет лежащим лицом вниз Wandering Ones. Он останется бесцветным существом 2/2 без имени, типа, способностей и мановой стоимости. Его контроллер не может перевернуть его лицом вверх в качестве специального действия. Если некий эффект перевернет его лицом вверх, то он будет иметь характеристики Wandering Ones.

Тармогойф лицом вниз
Break Open
Мститель из Серры

В случае если Оборотень, лежащий лицом вниз, становится копией существа без способности Оборотень (например, Мстителя из Серры), мы получим бесцветное существо 2/2 без мановой стоимости, которое не обладает способностью Оборотень. Если такое существо будет перевернуто лицом вверх благодаря какому-либо эффекту (например, Break Open), то мы получим обычного Мстителя из Серры.

Копирование флип-карт

Теперь настал черед разобраться с другими «перевёртышами», а именно флип-картами из блока Камигава.

Akki Lavarunner
Stabwhisker the Odious

Эти картонки имеют один и тот же цвет и мановую стоимость независимо от статуса, а вот название, тип, подтип, супертип и текст правил определяются тем, перевёрнута карта или нет.

706.3  Копируемые значения копии становятся копируемой информацией, модифицируемой статусом копии (См. правило 110.6). Объекты, копирующие этот объект, будут использовать новые копируемые значения.

Пример: Tomoya the Revealer (перевёрнутая карта) становится копией Nezumi Shortfang (неперевёрнутая карта). Характеристики Tomoya становятся характеристиками Stabwhisker the Odious, который является перевёрнутой версией Nezumi Shortfang.

Двойник Димиров становится копией Budoka Gardener и, используя способность Садовода, переворачивается. Если после этого Двойник Димиров станет копией Морщинистой Старосты, при этом он сохранит свой статус «перевернутый (flipped)», что никак не отразится на характеристиках Морщинистой Старосты. Если позднее Двойник Димиров станет копией Bushi Tenderfoot, то он будет иметь копируемые величины Kenzo the Hardhearted.

Пример копирования флип-карт
Sakashima the Impostor
Homura, Human Ascendant
Jushi Apprentice

Sakashima the Impostor, являясь копией Homura, Human Ascendant, попадает на кладбище. Срабатывает триггер, возвращающий его в игру в перевёрнутом состоянии. Если при входе в игру мы выберем в качестве образца для копирования Jushi Apprentice, то в результате получим вот такое существо:

Sakashima the Impostor, {1U}, 2/3;
Легендарное Существо — Человек Чародей;
3UU, TAP: Целевой игрок берёт X карт, где X число карт в вашей руке.
{ 2UU}: Верните Sakashima the Impostor в руку его вдалельца в начале следующего заключительного шага.

Копирование двухсторонних карт

Не так давно в Магии появились и другие перевертыши, а именно двухсторонние карты. Для них добавились правила:

706.8 При копировании двухстороннего перманента, лицевой стороны cоединяющейся карты или соединенного перманента, копируются только копируемые величины той стороны, которой на данный момент этот перманент повёрнут вверх. (См. правило 711, «Двухсторонние карты» и правило 712 «Слитые карты».)

711.4 Каждая сторона двусторонней карты имеет свой собственный набор характеристик.

711.4a Пока двухсторонняя карта находится вне игры, в зоне, отличной от поля битвы, и на поле битвы лицевой стороной вверх она имеет только набор характеристик её лицевой стороны.

711.4b Пока двухсторонний перманент находится обратной стороной вверх он имеет характеристики только обратной стороны. Однако, его конвертированная мановая стоимость вычисляется, используя мановую стоимость лицевой стороны карты. Это изменение предыдущих правил. Если перманент копирует обратную сторону двухсторонней карты (даже, если карта, представляющя копию, сама является двухсторонней), то конвертированная мановая стоимость этого перманента равна 0.

Зеркало Миражей
Насекомовидная Тварь
Бомба-Трещотка

Если Зеркало Миражей копирует Насекомовидную Тварь, то оно ничего не узнает о характеристиках Разыскивателя Тайн.

Если коварный оппонент активирует вторую способность Бомбы-Трещотки с одним жетоном заряда, то на разрешении способности уничтожится только оригинал Насекомовидной Твари, CMC которой равен 1 (как у Разыскивателя Тайн). У копии CMC=0.

711.5 Только перманенты, представленные двухсторонней картой могут трансформироваться (см. правило 701.26 «Трансформирование»). Если заклинание или способность предписывают игроку трансформировать любой перманент, не представленный двухсторонней картой, то ничего не происходит.

Пример: Клон выходит на поле битвы, как копия Стаи Дикой Крови (ночная сторона двухсторонней карты). Клон будет копией Стаи Дикой Крови. Так как Клон сам не является двухсторонней картой, он не может трансформироваться.

Пример: Игрок разыгрывает Цитоформу, предписывая Круинской Разбойнице (дневная сторона двухсторонней карты) стать копией Элитного Авангарда (существо 2/1 Человек Солдат) до конца хода. Затем игрок разыгрывает Лунный Туман, который в частности имеет текст «Трансформируйте все перманенты с типом Человек». Так как копия Элитного Авангарда является двухсторонней картой, она будет трансформирована. В результате этот перманент будет лежать ночной стороной вверх, но останется копией Элитного Авангарда до конца хода.

Фирексийский Метаморф
Учтивый Ученый
Жестокий Смертоубийца

Т.е. если Фирексийский Метаморф выходит на поле битвы, как копия Учтивого Ученого, то он ничего не будет знать о Жестоком Смертоубийце, и ни какие характеристики Жестокого Смертоубийца не копируются.

Поскольку только двухсторонние карты могут трансформироваться, то Фирексийский Метаморф в виде Учтивого Ученого не сможет трансформироваться. Тем не менее, мы можем активировать способность Учтивого Ученого и скинуть карту существа на её разрешении. Больше ничего н епроизойдёт.

Если двусторонняя карта становится копией чего-либо ещё, то копируемые значения заменят собой её характеристики до окончания действия эффекта копирования, даже если эта двусторонняя карта трансформируется. См. второй пример правила 711.5а.

Если копирующая что-либо ещё двусторонняя карта получает указание трансформироваться, она так и делает, поскольку у двухсторонней карты физически существуют две лицевые стороны, однако её характеристики всё равно будут соответствовать тому, что она копирует, даже в том случае, если копируемый объект — одна из лицевых сторон двусторонней карты:

Гастафский Пастух
Зеркальный Узор
Хранитель Кровной Линии

Если вы разыграли Зеркальный Узор, целя Хранителя Кровной Линии, на разрешении ваш Гастафский Пастух стал его копией, то активировав вторую способность Хранителя, вы трансформируете Пастуха, так как он является двусторонней картой, но в результате у вас всё равно до конца хода будет копия Хранителя Кровной Линии. А вот по окончании эффекта Зеркального Узора вы получите Гастафского Завывателя (ночную сторону Гастафского Пастуха).

Копирование карт с Соединением

Карты с Соединением менее интуитивны, чем двухсторонние. Для их копирования опять воспользуемся правилами:

706.8 При копировании двухстороннего перманента, лицевой стороны cоединяющейся карты или соединенного перманента, копируются только копируемые величины той стороны, которой на данный момент этот перманент повёрнут вверх. (См. правило 711,«Двухсторонние карты» и правило 712 «Слитые карты».)

701.35c Если эффект предписывает игроку соединить карты, которые не могут быть соединены, то те карты остаются в своей текущей зоне (как правило, в изгнании).

Пример: Игрок является владельцем и контролирует Полночных Мародеров и фишку, копирующую Крыс с Могильника. В начале боя оба перманента изгоняются, но не могут быть соединены. Полночные Мародеры остаются в изгнании.

Аналогично двухсторонним картам, копия cоединяющейся карты ничего не знает об обратной стороне и не может быть соединена.

712.3b Пока две карты из соединяющейся пары находятся на поле битвы как соединённый перманент, представленный этими двумя картами объект имеет только характеристики своей объединённой обратной лицевой стороны, за исключением того, что его конвертированная мановая стоимость равна сумме конвертированных мановых стоимостей передних лицевых сторон. Если перманент копирует соединённый перманент, то конвертированная мановая стоимость копии равна 0. (См. правило 202.3c.)

712.3c Всё, для чего нужна информация о соединяющейся карте, получает только информацию от той лицевой стороны, которая в данный момент направлена вверх.

Пример: Клон выходит на поле битвы в качестве копии Верещащей Кучи (объединённой обратной лицевой стороны соединяющейся пары). У него будут характеристики Верещащей Кучи, несмотря на то, что объект, которым он становится, представлен только одной картой.

Домашнее задание

Игрок контролирует Сущность Дикой Природы. Он воплощает Хищника Смертельного Тумана.

Какие характеристики будет иметь получившийся перманент. Можно ли его перевернуть лицом вверх и каким образом?

Ответ ⇓

Как любое другое существо, воплощенная карта выходит на поле битвы как копия Сущности Дикой Природы, лежащая лицом вниз. Т.е. получается существо 2/2 без мановой стоимости, имени, цвета, типа и подтипа. Это тот же самый объектом, который был воплощён, а значит, игрок может воспользоваться специальным действием для воплощённых карт и, показав мана-стоимость лицевой стороны, перевернуть карту лицом вверх. Игроку придётся заплатить {3GGG}. Воспользоваться способностью Мегаоборотень не получится, поскольку лицом вниз лежит Сущность Дикой Природы, а не Хищник Смертельного Тумана.

Nighteyes the Desecrator (вторая часть Nezumi Graverobber) попадает с поля битвы на кладбище, игрок платит {1} на разрешении триггера Кладбищенского Пуки. Что получится в результате?

Ответ ⇓

Кладбищенский Пука не является перевёрнутой картой, следовательно мы получим Nezumi Graverobber, к которому добавилась способность Пуки менять обличие.

Сохранится ли она, если в последствии Крыса флипнется?

Благодаря эффекту Зеркального Узора Бруна, Затухающий Светоч под контролем активного игрока становится копией Ханвирского Гарнизона. Игрок активирует третью способность своих Ханвирских Укреплений. Что происходит дальше?

Ответ ⇓

Бруна AKA Гарнизон и Укрепления изгоняются. Всё.


ВКонтакте
Facebook