How Magic Cards work
Ajanis Chosen

Ajanis Chosen Russian

Last Modified 07.01.2018

There are some intersting things about Auras entering the battlefield without casting

The Red Keep was full of cats: lazy old cats dozing in the sun, cold-eyed mousers twitching their tails, quick little kittens with claws like needles, ladies’ cats all combed and trusting, ragged shadows prowling the midden heaps.

“A game of thrones” by George Martin

Ajani’s Chosen

Oracle Text:

Creature — Cat Soldier

Whenever an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, create a 2/2 white Cat creature token. If that enchantment is an Aura, you may attach it to the token.

Ajani’s Chosen is a white creature with two creature types — Cat and Soldier. If you need to choose a creature type, for example, to use Cavern of Souls, you’ll have to choose either Cat or Soldier. You cannot choose Cat-Soldier.

If you attack with  Preeminent Captain, when its triggered ability resolves, you’ll be able to put Ajani’s Chosen from your hand on the battlefield tapped and attacking, because Ajani’s Chosen has a Soldier subtype.

If you play Cats deck in Tribal Wars format, you might think of including Raksha Golden Cub in the deck. While Rashka is equipped, he buffs all your Cats including Ajani’s Chosen with +2/+2 and Double Strike.

If you control an entire pride of Cat Soldiers: Ajani’s Chose, Ajani’s Pridemate and Kemba’s Legion and a Coat of Arms flies above them, each Cat will get +1/+1 twice, regardless of the number of shared creature types. Take a closer look at the Coat of Arms text and notice that it counts creatures and not types.

Now that we are done with creature types for today, let’s move on to the Ajani’s Chosen’s ability. Ajani’s Chosen has a single ability that reads: “Whenever an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, put a 2/2 white Cat creature token onto the battlefield. If that enchantment is an Aura, you may attach it to the token.”

  • Whenever” is a keyword that helps us define at this is a triggered ability. The following event triggers this ability:
  • an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control” is the triggering event.
    • As you may have noticed the trigger is ignorant to the way enchantments enter the battlefield.
    • To trigger this ability an enchantment must enter the battlefield. Changing control ( Aura Thief) or turning a pumpkin object into an enchantment ( Calming Licid) doesn’t cause the ability to trigger.
  • put a 2/2 white Cat creature token onto the battlefield. If that enchantment is an Aura, you may attach it to the token” is the triggered ability effect that only happens on resolution of the ability.
    • Note that this triggered ability isn’t conditional, although it has the word “if”.  This is not an intervening “if” clause, because it is not placed right after the triggering event description. This means that triggering and resolution of this ability do not depend on this condition. If the condition is met on resolution, you simply get to an additional part of the effect.

How does it work?

Sneak Attack
Show and Tell
Sun Titan

You cast and resolve Sneak Attack; or put a Detention Sphere on the battlefield on resolution of Show and Tell; or return Spirit Mantle from the graveyard on resolution of Sun Titan’s ability… any of these events will cause Ajani’s Chosen’s ability to trigger.

When the ability resolves for any of these cases, you’ll get a kitten token. However, only in the Spirit Mantle case will you get a chance to attach the Mantle to that kitten. Note that getting a token and attaching an Aura to it are both parts of the ability effect. At this time no player has a priority, so your cunning opponent won’t be able to kill the Cat token to prevent you from attaching an Aura to it.

What happens when an Aura enters the battlefield under your control during resolution of an Aura spell?

Lightning Talons
2/2 white Cat creature token

Let’s imagine that we cast Lightning Talons targeting a Bear. You know that Aura spells need a target, right? On resolution Lightning Talons enter the battlefield attached to the Bear. Ajani’s Chosen’s ability triggers and on its resolution we first get a token and then, if we want, we may attach the Aura to it.

Note that you can’t cast an Aura spell if there are no legal targets for it. For example, if your Ajani’s Chosen is the only creature on the battlefield and has Shroud, you won’t be able simply cast an Aura to attach it to the token.

Awaken the Ancient
2/2 white Cat creature token

If Awaken the Ancient enters the battlefield, it will cause the ability to trigger. When the ability resolves, you will get a Cat. But you won’t be able to make the Cat a 7/7 killing machine, because Awaken the Ancient can only enchant Mountains.

As the Aura that Ajani’s Chosen’s effect moves is already a permanent and does not target anything, you’ll be able to attach it to a Cat token even if it has Shroud.

Spiritual Asylum
2/2 white Cat creature token

If you control Spiritual Asylum, all creatures under your control have Shroud. In this case you may cast Rancor targeting an opponent’s creature and then attach it to your newborn kitten.

If you have an opportunity to copy Ajani’s Chosen’s triggered ability, the Aura that caused the ability to trigger can be moved twice.

Lightning Prowess
Strionic Resonator
Ajani’s Chosen

Let’s cast Lightning Prowess targeting Ajani’s Chosen. When the Aura hits the battlefield the Chosen’s ability triggers and we can copy it with Strionic Resonator. Next we activate the newly acquired ability of the Ajani’s Chosen and deal 1 damage to the foe (this damage may be redirected to the planeswalker he or she controls) or to an enemy creature. Then, we resolve the copy of the trigger, get a Cat and attach the Aura to it. We can then ping with the Cat, resolve the original ability and get another Cat we can attach the Aura to and ping.

Sweet bonus for dessert:

Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite
Spirit Mantle
2/2 white Cat creature token

Your cunning opponent controls Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite. You control Ajani’s Chosen and have Spirit Mantle in hand. You may cast and resolve Spirit Mantle targeting the Chosen. On the resolution of the triggered ability you get a 0/0 Cat creature token. But since the game doesn’t check the game state at this point the Cat stays on the battlefield. You can then attach the Aura to the token so that  it becomes 1/1 and survives the next time SBA (state-based actions) are performed.

Now a few words on forgetfulness. On a Competitive REL tournament Ajani’s Chosen’s triggered ability will be considered missed if its controller didn’t show awareness of the trigger or didn’t perform any actions that are part of the ability’s visual effect:

  • A player cast and resolved Pacifism and immediately put a Cat on the battlefield without saying a word. Everything is fine. It wouldn’t be bad manners to ask that player if he or she wants to attach Pacifism to that token.
  • A player casts and resolves Awaken the Ancient. He then casts a sorcery. Unfortunately, if at this point he remembers about the token, the trigger is already missed.
  • A player casts and resolves Awaken the Ancient. He then casts an instant, then puts a Cat token on the battlefield. Everything is fine. We assume that he cast that instant in response to the triggered ability.
  • A player casts 2 Auras in succession, informing you that he or she is getting 2 tokens and those Auras will be attached to the newest one. While this action is not technically correct, everything is fine, as it is considered Out-of-Order Sequencing*.
  • A player casts and resolves an Aura. Then he thinks and casts a second one. When it hits the table the player wants two kittens. In this case we will be assuming that he has forgotten the first trigger because you can only cast Auras while the stack is empty, so there were no triggers there.

In a Regular REL tournament, a player who forgets the trigger will often be able to get his or her Cat. However, he or she needs to remember about the trigger early enough so that the judge won’t change his mind to give away kittens to the forgetful people. “Early” in this case means early both in terms of time passed and game state complexity. If players have taken serious decisions based on the absence of the trigger, the game state will be left as is.

P.S. Fans of perpetuum mobile combos will love the interaction between  Enchanted Evening and Ajani’s Chosen. Remember to check your hand for a Disenchant of some sort before casting this enchantment, otherwise your game will end in a draw.

Translated by Lev Kotlyar

МЕНЮ
Как работают карты MTG
Избранники Аджани

Избранники Аджани
Ajani’s Chosen

Обновлено 20.08.2017

Интересные особенности выхода Ауры на поле битвы без её розыгрыша.

Вперед, коты! Трубой хвосты!

«Маленький Мук»

Хороший сет. Есть коты.

Summoning

Избранники Аджани

Оракл-текст:

Creature — Cat Soldier

Whenever an enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, create a 2/2 white Cat creature token. If that enchantment is an Aura, you may attach it to the token.


Существо — Кошка Солдат

Каждый раз, когда чары выходят на поле битвы под вашим контролем, положите на поле битвы одну фишку существа 2/2 белая Кошка. Если те чары являются Аурой, вы можете прикрепить их к той фишке.

Избранники Аджани являются белым существом с двумя подтипами существ — Кошка и Солдат. Если вам нужно назвать тип существа, например, для Пещеры Душ, придётся выбрать между Кошкой и Солдатом. Называть «солдат-кошка» нельзя.

Если вы назначили атакующим Выдающегося Капитана, то на разрешении его триггерной способности вы можете положить из вашей руки Избранников Аджани на поле битвы повёрнутыми и атакующими, потому что у Избранников Аджани есть подтип Солдат.

Если вы играете кошками в формате Война племён, то есть повод задуматься о добавлении в колоду Raksha Golden Cub, снарядив которого, можно раздать всем своим Котам, в том числе и Избранникам Аджани, +2/+2 и Двойной удар.

Если вы контролируете целый прайд котов-солдат: Избранников Аджани, Соплеменников Аджани и Легион Кембы и над ними развевается Гербовый Щит, то каждый из Котов получит +1/+1 дважды, несмотря на то, что совпадающих типов у них много. При внимательном прочтении Гербового Щита, вы увидите, что он считает существ, а не подтипы.

Думаю, что с подтипами существ мы сегодня разобрались. Перейдём к способности Избранников Аджани. Избранники Аджани имеют только одну способность: «Каждый раз, когда чары выходят на поле битвы под вашим контролем, положите на поле битвы одну фишку существа 2/2 белая Кошка. Если эти чары являются Аурой, вы можете прикрепить их к этой фишке».

  • Каждый раз, когда — по этим словам мы определяем, что это триггерная способность, т.е. срабатывает сама при возникновении триггерного события:
  • чары выходят на поле битвы под вашим контролем — триггерное событие.
    • Как вы видите, триггер совершенно не волнует, как именно эти чары появились на поле битвы и что это за чары.
    • Чары должны выйти на поле битвы, а не просто сменить контроль (Aura Thief) или преобразоваться в чары из тыквы другого объекта (Calming Licid).
  • положите на поле битвы одну фишку существа 2/2 белая Кошка. Если эти чары являются Аурой, вы можете прикрепить их к этой фишке — это эффект триггера, его мы получаем только на разрешении.
    • Обратите внимание, что этот триггер не относится к условным, несмотря на то, что имеет слово «если». В данном случае «если» расположенное не сразу после описания триггерного события. Это означает, что срабатывание и разрешение этого триггера никак не зависят от выполнения условия. Просто если условие выполнено, эффект триггера позволяет вам проделать ещё одну процедуру.

Как это работает?

Sneak Attack
Show and Tell
Титан Солнца

Вы разыграли и разрешили Sneak Attack; или на разрешении Show and Tell вы положили из руки на поле битвы Сфера Задержания; или на разрешении триггера Титана Солнца, в достали из кладбища Мантия Духа... любое из этих событий будет триггерным для Избранников Аджани.

На разрешении триггера во всех трех случаях вы сначала положите фишку котёнка, но только в случае Мантия Духа у вас будет возможность прикрепить эту ауру к этому коту. Обратите внимание, что появление фишки и прикрепление к ней ауры — это часть эффекта триггера. В момент выполнения этих действий ни один из игроков не имеет приоритета, а значит ничего не может сделать. Ваш коварный оппонент не может убить фишку Кота, чтобы помешать вам прикрепить к ней Ауру.

Что происходит, если аура выходит под наш контроль на разрешении заклинания ауры?

Когти-Молнии
Мишка
Фишка Кошка 2/2

Допустим, мы разыграли Когти-Молнии, выбрав целью Мишку. Вы ведь знаете, что заклинание ауры обязательно имеет цель? На разрешении Когтей-Молний выходит на поле битвы, прикреплённой к Медведю. Срабатывает триггер Избранников Аджани. На разрешении триггера вы сначала кладёте на поле битвы Кошку, а потом, если вам этого хочется, можете прикрепить ауру к ней.

Обратите внимание, что вы не можете разыгрывать ауру, если для неё нет легальной цели. Например, если ваши Избранники Аджани являются единственным существом на поле битвы и имеют Пелену, то нельзя «просто так» разыграть ауру, чтобы потом прикрепить её к фишке Кота.

Вы не можете прикрепить ауру к фишке Кошки, если эта аура не может её легально зачаровывать.

Пробуждение Древних
Гора
Фишка Кошка 2/2

Выход Пробуждения Древних на поле битвы, вызовет срабатывание триггера Избранников Аджани. На его разрешении вы получите Кошку. Но сделать из котёнка машину убийства 7/7 у вас не получится, потому что Пробуждение Древних может зачаровывать только Горы.

Поскольку Аура, которую перемещает эффект Избранников Аджани, является перманентом, а значит, не целит, вы можете прикрепить её к фишке Кошки даже если та имеет в этот момент Пелену (Shroud).

Пробуждение Древних
Злоба
Фишка Кошка 2/2

Если вы контролируете Spiritual Asylum, то все существа под вашим контролем имеют Пелену. Но! Вы можете разыграть Злобу, выбрав целью существо под контролем оппонента, а потому перевесить её на фишку Кота.

Если у нас есть возможность скопировать триггер Избранников Аджани, то ауру, которая вызвала срабатывание триггера, можно перевесить два раза.

Управление Молнией
Стрионический Резонатор
Избранники Аджани

Разыгрываем Управление Молнией, выбирая целью Избранников. На разрешении ауры сработает триггер Избранников, его мы копируем способностью Стрионического Резонатора. Затем активируем свежеприобретённую способность Избранников Аджани и наносим 1 повреждение врагу (это повреждение можно перенаправить в Planeswalker'а под его контролем) или вражескому существу. Разрешаем копию триггера, получаем Кошку, вешаем на неё Управление Молнией. Пингаем кошкой. Разрешаем исходный триггер, получаем ещё одного Кошака и перевешиваем ауру на него. И снова можем пингнуть.

Десерт:

Элиш Норн, Великая Инокиня
Мантия Духа
Фишка Кошка 2/2

Коварный оппонент контролирует Элиш Норн, Великая Инокиня. У вас есть Избранники Аджани на поле битвы и Мантия Духа в руке. Вы можете разыграть и разрешить Мантию Духа, выбрав целью Избранников Аджани. На разрешении триггера Избранников Аджани на поле битвы выйдет Кошак 0/0. Но поскольку игровая машина в этот момент не заботится о состоянии игры, то Кошак останется на поле битвы. Вы можете прикрепить Мантию Духа к фишке Кота, таким образом он станет 1/1 и выживет при последующем выполнении ДВС.

Несколько слов про забывчивость. На турнире с соревновательным УПП триггер Избранников Аджани будет считаться пропущенным, если его контроллер никак не показал, что помнит о триггере и предпринял какие-либо действия, которые точно говорят, что они выполняются после разрешения этого триггера:

  • Игрок разыграл и разрешил Пацифизм и тут же молча положил Кота. Всё в порядке. В качестве мести можно поинтересоваться, не хочет ли он прикрепить Пацифизм к своему Коту.
  • Игрок разыграл и разрешил Пробуждение Древних. После этого разыграл волшебство. К сожалению, даже если в этот момент он вспомнит про Кошку, то триггер пропущен.
  • Игрок разыграл и разрешил Пробуждение Древних. После этого разыграл мгновенное заклинание. Потом положил фишку Кота. Всё в порядке. Мы считаем, что он разыграл мгновенное заклинание в ответ на триггер.
  • Игрок разыграл две ауры подряд, уведомив вас, что у него родилось два Котёнка, к которым он и прикрепит эти ауры. Не очень хорошо с точки зрения техники, но допустимо, как дейстыия в неправильном порядке (Out-of-Order Sequencing).
  • Если в предыдущем примере игрок сначала разыграл ауру. Она разрешилась, он подумал и разыграл вторую. И только при выходе второй захотел двух Котят, то мы будем считать, что про первый триггер он забыл, потому что разыграть ауру можно только при пустом стеке, а значит, триггера там нет.

На обычном УПП игрок, как правило, получит своего Кота, даже если забыл про него. Ему нужно вспомнить о триггере не настолько поздно, чтобы судья передумал раздавать Котят забывчивым людям. Поздно в данном случае включает в себя как понятие времени, так и понятие сложности. Если после того, как триггер был пропущен, игроки предприняли какие-то серьезные действия, основываясь на том, что триггера не было, то игру оставят в том же состоянии.

P.S. Любителям вечных двигателей понравится взаимодействие Чарующий Вечер и Избранников Аджани. Разыгрывая такие чары, не забудьте запастись каким-нибудь Разочаровывать, иначе игра закончится вничью.



ВКонтакте
Facebook

MTG судьям

Объяснения основных жаргонных терминов, необходимых для понимания разговоров магов и успешного чтения статей по MTG